Follow us @blkgirlhealth


Self Love Through Love Languages

Self Love Through Love Languages

Love Languages are used to describe how we as individuals desire to be loved and how to give love. “The 5 Love Languages” by Gary Chapman describes the concepts of love languages. Chapman’s concept of love is broken down into five categories: words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch. Knowing your love language can not only help you feel more loved in your relationship but it is also the first step to self love. Find your love language here.


1. Words of Affirmation: Vocalize Self Love

  • Practice daily affirmations.
  • Journaling your progress.
  • Try speaking only positively when referring to yourself.

2. Acts of Service: Practice Self-Love

  • Prepare your favorite meal.
  • Groom yourself, try a new hairstyle!
  • Get your To-Do list done.

3. Receiving Gifts: Treating Yourself

  • Treat yourself to Shopping spree.
  • Try a new fragrance or candle.
  • Invest in your future, take a class to develop new skills.

4. Quality Time: Be Present with Yourself

  • Practice deep breathing or meditation.
  • Make time for leisure and or hobbies.
  • Prioritize your sleep.

5. Physical Touch: Feeling Self-Love

  • Try a new skincare routine.
  • Pamper yourself at home!
  • Take a bath.


If you would like to educate yourself on different mental health topics, then visit an online information service, produced by the National Library of Medicine where consumers can view the latest health articles and content. If you are a consumer interested in reading medical publications such as journals, dictionaries, or even blog then go to website of the National Library of Medicine.

Shukri Muse

No Comments

Post a Comment